Inhaltsverzeichnis  MOBOTIX Online-Hilfe

Dynamic DNS

In the Configure Dynamic DNS dialog, you are configuring the camera's DynDNS Client so that you can access the camera using a symbolic host name even though the camera's IP address keeps changing.

Introduction

Connections via the Internet are typically established by Internet service providers. Normally, providers assign changing IP addresses, which means that the camera's IP address is a different one each time a connection to the provider is established. Once the camera is connected to the Internet, you can only access it via the Internet if you know its current IP address.

The Domain Name Service (DNS) is an important Internet service. Using so-called name servers, this service provides decentralized databases that allow allocating symbolic host names (e.g. www.mobotix.com) to the respective IP addresses (e.g. 213.83.41.133). However, the DNS service concept is based on statically assigned IP addresses. Originally, this concept was not designed to work with frequently changing IP addresses as used when dialing up to a provider.

In order to enable the DNS to also manage changing IP addresses, the Dynamic DNS Service (DynDNS) has been introduced. A mechanism has been added to the DNS service, which the camera can use to transmit its current IP address, so that the entry in the name server database is updated automatically.

Note

For the dynamic DNS service to work, the camera must be connected directly to the Internet using an officially routed IP address. This is generally not the case if the camera is connected via a DSL router only, since these usually employ NAT (Network Address Translation). A router using NAT replaces the camera's IP address in outbound packets by his own.

The camera has no knowledge of this IP address and therefore can not use the dynamic DNS service. In this case, you need to configure port forwarding to the camera on the router, and set the latter to use the dynamic DNS service.

Configuring the DynDNS Client

Prior to configuring the camera for DynDNS, you need to register a host name for your camera with a DynDNS service (e.g. mycam.dyndns.org). For a list of DynDNS service websites, see the Service Type list box.

Description of Parameters

Parameter

Description

Client

This option enables or disables your camera's DynDNS client.

Service Type

The DynDNS data transfer is not standardized. This has resulted in different data exchange formats for different DynDNS providers. Select the service type suitable for your DynDNS service.

Server

Enter the symbolic name (e.g. members.dyndns.org) or the IP address of your DynDNS provider's server. If you are not sure which server to enter, leave this field empty. In this case, the camera automatically uses the standard server enclosed in parentheses in the Service Type field.

Host Name

Enter the host name (e.g. mycam.dyndns.org) that you have registered with a DynDNS service for your camera.

User Name

Enter the user name that you have registered or that you have been assigned during the registration process with your DynDNS service.

Password

Enter the password that is used for authentication at the DynDNS server.

Connection

This field shows which connection the DynDNS client uses and if it is working properly. This is the connection defined for the standard route. For configuring the standard route, open the Routing dialog.

Testing the Configuration

Ethernet Connection

In this case, the camera's DynDNS client transfers the IP address just once when the camera has been rebooted.

If your network uses e.g. DSL to connect to the Internet, you need to make sure that the camera is rebooted periodically after the respective router has been assigned a new IP address. By default, the camera is rebooting once a day using a time task defined in the Time Tasks dialog.

For status information on this feature, open the System Messages dialog.


Konfiguration sichern

Klicken Sie auf Setzen, um die Einstellungen zu aktivieren und bis zum nächsten Neustart der Kamera zu sichern.

Klicken Sie auf Voreinstellung, um diesen Dialog auf die werkseitigen Voreinstellungen zurückzusetzen (dieser Button wird nicht in allen Dialogen angezeigt).

Klicken Sie auf Wiederherstellen, um alle Änderungen seit dem letzten permanenten Speichern der Konfiguration zu verwerfen.

Beenden Sie den Dialog durch Klick auf Schließen. Hierbei wird geprüft, ob Änderungen der Gesamtkonfiguration vorliegen. Ist dies der Fall, werden Sie gefragt, ob die Gesamtkonfiguration dauerhaft gesichert werden soll.

 Zum Aktivieren der neuen Einstellungen speichern Sie die Konfiguration und führen einen Neustart der Kamera durch!


© 2001-2019 MOBOTIX, · http://www.mobotix.com/